Byrider Honors Franchisees at Annual Convention

Byrider Honors Franchisees at Annual Convention

Franchisees of the Year, President’s Awards and more were awarded on Nov. 12.

Byrider, one of America’s largest buy-here-pay-here used car dealerships and franchise systems, presented annual awards to its franchise body at the company’s annual convention in Aventura, Floriday, Nov. 10-12. The awards ceremony was held on Sat., Nov. 12.

Craig Peters, chief executive officer at Byrider, said, “We’re proud to recognize our franchisees and their teams each year at our annual convention. Our franchisees are at the heart of Byrider’s success. Their commitment to helping their customers move forward, as well as expertly operating their stores, is truly commendable.” 

“I am excited to recognize the owners and operators who have been key drivers of the Byrider franchise business in 2022. These franchisees and operators demonstrated their ability to set high customer service standards and grow the business,” added Chris Hadley, vice president of franchising. 

Franchise of the Year 

The franchise of the year award recognizes the best overall performance by a franchise group based on internal store rankings and a measure of how the business has contributed to the Byrider franchise community.

Russ Larson, Jeff Lee, and Winston Sleeth – 4+ Locations
Burlington, Davenport, Des Moines and Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and Columbia, Joplin and Springfield, Missouri

John Chalfant, Thomas Loughran – 2-3 Locations
Boise and Nampa, Idaho

Keith Kocourek and Jennifer Freiboth – Single Location
Wausau, Wisconsin

President’s Award

The president’s awards recognize dealership locations included in the top 10% of stores as defined by Byrider’s store ranking system. Winners, in order of performance ranking:

  • Springfield, Missouri – Russ Larson, Winston Sleeth Top store nationwide
  • Davenport, Iowa – Russ Larson, Jeff Lee
  • Joplin, Missouri – Russ Larson, Winston Sleeth
  • Burlington, Iowa – Russ Larson, Jeff Lee
  • Des Moines, Iowa – Russ Larson, Jeff Lee
  • Mansfield, Ohio – Chris McPhie, Greg Barrett
  • Cedar Rapids, Iowa – Russ Larson, Jeff Lee
  • Akron, Ohio – Chris McPhie, Greg Barrett
  • Ashtabula, Ohio – Chris McPhie, Greg Barrett
  • Bloomington, Indiana – Roy Wagner, Terry Gerhart
  • Wausau, Wisconsin – Keith Kocourek , Jennifer Freiboth
  • Richmond, Indiana – Roy Wagner, Terry Gerhart
  • Traverse City, Michigan – Bill Marsh Auto Group, Jeff Chevalier
  • Muncie, Indiana – Roy Wagner, Terry Gerhart
  • Canton, Ohio – Chris McPhie, Greg Barrett

Most Improved

The most improved award was granted to stores that demonstrated the most improvement from 2021 to 2022 based on store rankings (earnings, customer advancement, service comebacks, reputation management, portfolio performance, etc.), organized by franchise size.

Most Improved – Single Point  
Denver, Colorado – Rick Steenbock
Most Improved – 2-3 Locations  
Boise and Nampa, Idaho – John Chalfant and Thomas Loughran 
Most Improved – 4+ Locations  
Clarksburg, Morgantown, Parkersburg and South Charleston, West Virginia – Mark Morris

Top Store in Customer Satisfaction Award

NEW AWARD recognizing top customer satisfaction scores in the network

Panama City, Florida – Steve Locklear

Also honored with a Commitment to Excellence Award was Greg Barrett, who co-owns stores in Ohio and North Carolina. The award recognizes Barrett’s and his team’s dedication and high-performing stores’ contributions to the larger Byrider network.

You May Also Like

DAS Technology Unveils New CDXP Features at NADA 2023

The platform offers new Google communication integration capabilities and expanded inventory merchandising capabilities.

Leading Customer Data and Experience Platform (CDXP) company unveils new technology features leveraging data and integrations to enhance customer experience and boost CSI and sales

DAS Technology, a leading customer data and experience platform company leveraged by over 7,800 retailers, unveiled new technology showcasing the company’s expanded Customer Data and Experience Platform (CDXP) solutions. The new solutions were shown at DAS Technology’s booth at the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Show Jan. 26-29 in Dallas, Texas.

Cox Automotive Teams with Roku to Measure how TV Streaming Impacts the Consumer Automotive Journey 

New partnership seeks to make leading automotive dataset available for marketers to connect ad exposure to every stage of the shopping journey for the first time

automotiveMastermind Joins the Reynolds Certified Interface Program

automotiveMastermind (aM) has signed a contract to join the Reynolds Certified Interface Program.

Cox Automotive’s Upside Expands, Delivers Over Four Million Dollars in Profit Share Back to Clients

Cox Automotive remains confident in how this new way to wholesale can deliver profitability to sellers in any market—and the data has proven that.

Reynolds Acquires American Guardian Warranty Services

The Reynolds and Reynolds Company expands its portfolio by adding F&I products and services for automotive, RV, powersports, marine, and commercial trucking markets

Other Posts

Outgoing 2022 NADA Chairman Mike Alford Underscores Dealer Commitment to Evolving Business Model

In his final remarks as NADA Chairman, Mike Alford highlighted the evolving auto retail business model and how dealers and auto manufacturers “are connected by the desire to provide an unrivaled customer experience.”

NAAA Foundation Donates $75,000 to NADA Workforce Initiative

The NAAA Foundation donated $75,000 to the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Foundation’s Workforce Initiative, which promotes the value of dealerships roles and access to educational resources.

NADA and Tekion Announce First-Ever Tied Winners in 6th Annual Women Driving Auto Retail Video Contest

The National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) and sponsor Tekion named Leslie Jefferson and Alicia Rivera as the winners of the 6th Annual Women Driving Auto Retail Contest at NADA Show 2023.

New Jersey Dealer Mike DeSilva to Serve as AIADA’s 2023 Chairman

DeSilva, who is the co-owner of Liberty Auto Group in northern New Jersey, accepted the chairman’s gavel during an AIADA event in Dallas, Texas on Friday night.